Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
josephines67

Surgery on Kifukurin Otome Ki

Well, now I've done it...while checking after the shower we just had, i spotted two small slugs on this little plant. I went chasing after them and ended up just digging it up!!!!!

Good thing I did...look what I found...I hope you can see from the pic the interesting lateral growth, but what surprised me more was the knotty appearance of the crown. In many places it resembles mini logs, or like leaves were chewed off at one time or another....not explaining well, sorry.

It was very easy to untangle the whole mess and there are many, many, many little plants, many with flower buds :):)

So, now I have to replant them (in pots).

I am in need of advice and assistance. Do I just clump a few together, being particular how I place them against each other OR????? The roots look ok to me but I am no expert, that's for sure, in the root department!

AND I found out that I am not as fearful as I thought I was....must be the tutorials I've been receiving, huh? :)

I'm sitting outside surrounded by all these cute babies...they are sitting in water...the birds are singing and I just had a little visitor brazenly hop into the yard....yup, my little baby rabbit that is chewing whatever catches his fancy around here! I digress....I hope someone is online and sees this plea for help...:) Jo

Comments (23)

• josephines167 z5 ON Canada
    Original Author
    10 years ago

More pics of the mess...a closer look at just a few.

• paul_in_mn
    10 years ago

Next time 10% ammonia to water in a spray bottle - spray the slugs and you're done.

Paul

Original Author
    10 years ago

Bit the bullet...point of no return...I better stop while I'm ahead.....
    Idiothe, what are the chances for these 5????? I'm afraid I cut too many...no enough root?

Regardless, no pain, no gain...I have to start somewhere, right? I'll learn from my mistakes.