Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
thisismelissa

Poison Ivy in Hosta Bed

thisismelissa
11 years ago

Well, I have to admit, this is the first time I've ever had Poison Ivy in any landscape I've ever owned.

So, I admit to being a complete newb to this issue.

I don't know if I'm even allergic to it, and frankly I don't want to find out.

It's growing right smack in the middle of my hosta bed. I'm a little afraid to get out and find out if its roots are amongst a hosta.

I have RoundUp and I have a Brush Killer. I know I'm supposed to wear gloves and long pants. Watched those vids. It's a small vine.

So, do I spray it, then dig it out? Or spray it and leave it alone?

Comments (10)

• Steve Massachusetts
    11 years ago

Pull it and leave a small piece where it has rooted. Then get out your mustard bottle and give it a few drops of undiluted Roundup on the cut surface of that piece.

Steve

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    11 years ago

rubber gloves...

expensive applicator at link.. fill with full strength.. either...

clip to ground.. apply one drop...come back in one month ...

repeat until dead..

root can stay toxic for a year or two... or so i heard.. do NOT burn refuse

wash clippers with hot water and dawn while you have the gloves on.. its an oil...

ken

Here is a link that might be useful: link

• bkay2000
    11 years ago

I wouldn't mess with roundup, I would go straight for the brush killer. (I'm sure Steve knows better than I do, but when it comes to poison ivy, I want the bazooka, not the .22)

Also, the dead parts will break you out (if you're allergic) just as much as the live parts. My DH is so allergic that he can get a reaction from touching the dog who has touched the poison ivy. So, make sure the dog doesn't get into it. Fortunately, I'm not allergic, yet.

bkay

• thisismelissa
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Ok, I could not wait for responses.