Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
littlebug5_gw

Does gravel mulch draw insects?

littlebug5
10 years ago

I'm a hosta newbie - be gentle, please.

This is my first season of really getting into hostas, and the first planting season in this house.

When we moved here, there were a few hostas scattered around in various places and I dug them up and moved them to a new bed of their own. In the ground, not in pots.

The previous owners had a hideous bed of assorted stuff in the middle of the yard, mulched with river rock. I destroyed that bed and picked up the river rock (which cost me a lot of sweat) and mulched my new hosta bed with it. It looked real pretty.

But now, I've got lots of insect damage to my hostas. One baby hosta, which I bought and planted, is almost entirely eaten up. It has 1.5 leaves left. Some others have chew marks almost completely around every leaf. It's not slugs - I don't see any slimy trails. I DO have roly-polies - do they eat hosta?

DH, who is in agribusiness, advised me to apply Sevin to the hostas. I did that today. But of course, they're not very pretty to look at all covered in powder.

So anyway, is the gravel drawing insects? Should I remove it? Could I cover it with regular shredded mulch?

Comments (7)

• thisismelissa
    10 years ago

Welcome.

Rock of any kind retains heat. This will reflect back up onto your hosta and cause it to lose moisture.

You're probably dealing with either cutworms or rabbits.

And yes, I'd replace the rock with something organic, like cypress, cedar or hardwood mulch. Even pinebark needles.

However, none of these will likely address your bug/critter problem. If it's cutworms, consider using something like Sluggo PLUS or Bug Geta PLUS. Make sure you get the PLUS.

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    10 years ago

sevin is an insecticide ...

slugs are mullosks...

useless if your problem is slugs... or heat

ken

• User
    10 years ago