Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
brenda53159

Hosta Seedlings: 3 Tier Green house

Brenda53159
9 years ago

Hi .. I have a question to ask about my hosta seedlings .. I have got a flat that holds 48 plants so far I have got 34 up. I have the flat in a 3 tier mini Green house in my home with a fluorescent 75watt hanging over them that is 400 lumans .. The plants are 4 inches from the light Is this close enough or should they be closer to the light? They are all doing great so far and leafing out nicely so far. Is a 75watt ok for a 3 tier green house? I'm new to seedlings and I appreciate all your help. I simply really love these plants and want to grow my own .. But I want them to grow right.

Comments (5)

• paul_in_mn
    9 years ago

Pic of seed growing setup....

...as seedlings are uncovered and grow taller the light can be raised with chains.....close is good. I think flourescent are 40w each so 80w over the 5 containers.

Paul

This post was edited by paul_in_mn on Sat, Jul 19, 14 at 9:16

• Brenda53159
    Original Author
    9 years ago

So I take it that Im not all that far off from lighting??

• Babka NorCal 9b
    9 years ago

Outdoor greenhouse? So what do you plan to do about winter dormancy if you are starting them now? Gotta big fridge?

-Babka

This post was edited by Babka on Sat, Jul 19, 14 at 1:51

• Steve Massachusetts
    9 years ago

That was my question, Babka. Why are you growing these now? In Zone 5 you will be very fortunate indeed if these babies get big enough to survive winter. Most people sow seeds in Winter for placing into the garden in late May/early June. Then they are big enough to get through the Winter.

I have also done some Winter Sowing. It's hit or miss, so I only use left over seed. But I get small seedlings in summer, and I have over wintered a few successfully. It's tricky though.

Steve

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    9 years ago