Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kburg25

Empress Wu root problem?

kburg25
10 years ago

Hi all. New here and really need some suggestions. It appears my 4yr old Empress Wu's roots are poking out of the ground. Not really 100% sure as I'm no hosta expert. Noticed it today while getting underneath to water. Should I worry?

Comments (15)

• josephines167 z5 ON Canada
    10 years ago

Someone more learned than I will help you, I'm sure, but those darn pill bugs on your PW are bad news!

They are chewers. I have my share of woes when it comes to them. They love to burrow under crowns of plants and chew till there is no root left. I would recommend removing them. Tricky little buggers...curl up into a ball when disturbed......squishing is good if you are not squeamish...I spray them with ammonia solution (1 part ammonia, 8-10 part water) . Seems to help, but I like getting rid of them by squishing. There was a good thread recently on them. I'm sorry, but I don't know how to provide the link to that thread....perhaps someone else might?

Did not intend to derail the root question. Sorry.

10 years ago

The pill bugs are bugging me (pun intended) lol ...they may be part of the problem...they burrow, so it wouldn't hurt to check further...see if they are setting up shop in your plant. That's a fair bit of roots showing..hang in there..someone will know how to advise you.

• Babka NorCal 9b
    10 years ago

Don't worry, be happy. As long as the hosta is thriving, the roots will go where they please. Some of mine do that too.

-Babka

• jadie88
    10 years ago

Do you have clay soil by any chance? A hosta planted by previous owners was having such a hard time with the heavy clay soil that it was sending roots up all over the place. Winter heaving added to that such that in the spring I could pick up divisions off the ground because only the root tips were in the soil!

Anyway, as Babka said, if the Empress is growing well, no worries.

• kburg25
    Original Author