Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
carolwoh

I'm afraid to ask . . .

I'm just learning about HVX after finding this forum. I've had this striptease for about four years. Look at it now! It's never done this before. What's going on? UGH, it's HVX, isn't it?

Comments (14)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    9 years ago

yes ....

ken

• irawon
    9 years ago

Hi Carol,

Sorry to have to confirm your suspicion... classic symptom of HVX, that ink bleed from the veins. What a bummer, having invested four years of growth and now to lose it. I know how you must be feeling since I noticed HVX for the first time this year on my seven- year- old Blue Mouse Ears.

I'm sure you know the following about what to do but in case there are any newbies out there:

1. Dispose of the plant in the garbage and not in compost.
    2. Sterilize your tools after digging the hosta.
    3. Don't plant a hosta in the same spot.
    4. Buy hostas from nurseries that are aware of and test for HVX.

If I've forgotten anything I'm sure the hosta veterans on this forum will chime in.

• hostas_for_barb
    9 years ago

My condolences Carol. I just disposed of my Striptease this week. But mine had only been in the garden fora week or so. It is such a beautiful hosta - and especially at 4 years. So sorry for your loss.

• carolwoh (Zone 6, Akron, OH) Weber
    Original Author
    9 years ago

What a sad day. I really love that plant. It's one of the first "fancy" hostas I added to my garden. Before I learned how many varieties there were and the addiction took hold. Anyone have a healthy one they can share with me?

• Eleven
    9 years ago

I had to dispose of my Striptease a couple years ago too :( Too bad they are well known for having a high percentage of infected plants. I just replaced mine this year with a healthy specimen.