aequinoctiiantha

anyone growing it..?? ...pix????

anyone able to pronounce it???

ken

Comments (16)

• josephines167 z5 ON Canada
    10 years ago

Will "A-kee-knock-tee-eye-antha" do?

Where did you acquire these rarities, Ken?

• jadie88
    10 years ago

Ok, I'm new to hosta, but not new to Latin. :) The ae is pronounced like the ai in aisle. So you get "Aye-quin-ock-tee-antha"

The word Aequinoctium is a combination of "equal" and "night" and it is where we get the term "equinox."

Three years of Latin just became worth it, as I actually got to teach ken something for ONCE! :)

• bkay2000
    10 years ago

What is is this week, Ken? Stump the hosta forum?

It's interesting, anyway.

bk

• josephines167 z5 ON Canada
    10 years ago

I didn't take Latin...but refer to Latin names for perennials to ensure I get the right one....I thought when there are two ii's together in a word e.g. Paniculata 'Davidii'... they are pronounced separately ... one short, the other long....is that correct, Jadie?

• jadie88
    10 years ago

Totally right, Jo! at the end of a word ii denotes a plural, and the i's are pronounced as you said. The tricky thing is that in the middle of a word, two i's together are both short, but they break syllables. Its that a after the ii that throws me off though...usually you'd see another consonant, which makes the syllable break easier to say.

One thing for sure, I would never have guessed this was the name of a hosta! :)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    Original Author
    10 years ago

it was big quite a while back.. for its red petioles ... and its bloom period i think ... its wavy too ...

ken

• jadie88
    10 years ago