Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lilfarmgirl

Do All Hosta Flowers Produce Seeds

LilFarmGirl
9 years ago

I have seen many flowers here in my town in SC but most of them are not producing seeds after they have bloomed. here are mine in this picture. Any suggestions. Still new to this forum and still growing the love of Hostas.

Comments (14)

• BungalowMonkeys
    9 years ago

I'm new to hostas as well and from reading have learned that not all produce seeds. Which hosta is that in your photo?

Here is a link that might be useful: FAQ hosta seeds

• LilFarmGirl
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Im not sure yet. My sister brought two of them for me.

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    9 years ago

some are sterile ...

some dont accept pollen if its too hot ... or other conditions are not favorable ...

and some do NOT.. just to aggravate you .. or me...

H with large white leaf centers... and white petioles.. flower stalks ... are USUALLY .. sterile ... but there are exceptions ... but even sterile ones... MIGHT make pods ... but you will end up not finding anything inside of them ....

ken

• bkay2000
    9 years ago

I have hosta that I never remember making a flower, much less a pod. Then, I have one other oldie that never makes a pod, but usually makes flowers. These are noids I've had for years and years. Come to think of it, the u albomarginata never made pods either.

I think some of it is maturity, too. Last year was the first year I had any pods to speak of. I started collecting in 2009, so it was three years later before I saw a pod. My flowering was delayed as well, but not as long.

bk

• LilFarmGirl
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Wow! I have a lot to learn about Hosta. I am still collecting different ones. When I finally get mine in the ground I hope to be posting some information I have learned in the future. I can wait until next year when I can really show mine off like some of you.

• LilFarmGirl
    Original Author
    9 years ago