Return to the Hosta Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Information Overload!!

Posted by SouthCountryGuy SE BC 4b wannabe 5 (My Page) on
Thu, Aug 21, 14 at 19:25

I have to admit I am a Hosta newbie and one that needed to rip out all my hosta's due to HVX.

My problem is that I am finding conflicting information on how long to wait to plant in "that spot".

I dug out all my hosta's 6" wider than the drip line and 8" deeper than I found roots and discarded everything. For 25 hosta's (most very, very small planted this year) I needed 3 yards of topsoil. My eyes are bleeding from 3 days of research.

While I will not plant on top of the old spot how much am I at risk at planting close? I don't want to plant something like Empress Wu or Sum and Substance and have it infected in a year by the roots...

I can't find any information that is somewhat conclusive on how root transmission works...Links or experience would help me considerably.

Thanks again.

SCG

and for ken....

I love... your experience......

On this..... you are the best.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Information Overload!!

While I'm a hosta devotee, I'm not obsessed with them. However I love & value those I selected to grace my various garden beds. I'm fortunate to have purchased my plants from a reputable local hosta seller and (so far, fingers crossed) haven't been plagued as you have.

The link below will bring you to the Missouri Botanical Garden and their information about HVX. Hope this is helpful.

Here is a link that might be useful: Hosta virus

o

Absolutely gardenweed and I appreciate the link...I am having issues finding substantial information on how long the virus can stay in the soil. I removed most everything and put it in the dump but want to plant hosta's....if the risk is minimal....ohhhh hosta's!! FWIW I painted a circle around the drip line, removed the hosta then 8-10" beyond the drip line. Also went 16" deep..

Thanks again.

SCG

o