Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bill123456_gw

Potted Hostas

Bill123456
10 years ago

Pots protect hostas from predators...but are there other drawbacks beyond the obvious limiting factors of size and possible tendency towards dryness?
For those of you who use pots, have you got any tips for success or warnings for the rest of us? Are some materials bad for hostas? How about cement pots? Anyone have a problem with them?

Comments (10)

• jadie88
    10 years ago

Oh, you've come to the right place! Several pot experts around. If you search the forum you'll find some valuable threads. I am no expert, but I've read a lot and I have my newly-acquired hostas in pots until I finish prepping beds for them, so I will tell you some of the highlights I've picked up.

The main warning is about the media...you want excellent drainage to avoid root/crown rot. Don't use "moisture control" bagged potting mix, as its a known hosta killer. :) I use about 60% pine bark mulch in my pots in order to get fast drainage.

Black nursery liner pots are best, then slip those into whatever decorative pots you like. Don't put small hosta in big pots.

Poke around and you'll learn everything you need to know! :)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    10 years ago

hey bill

what version of z5 do you live in.. MI or MO? .. big difference as to winter protection and storage ...

what she said about media as the #1 concern ....

there is a GW search up above.. i am sure the potheads will roll thru .. but the search function can get you a broader overview on growing things in pots ...

good luck

and welcome

ken

• beverlymnz4
    10 years ago

Are we talking about pots out of the ground, or in the ground to protect hosta from critters and tree roots?

Beverly

• bkay2000
    10 years ago

Hi Bill,