Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
swanlake999

Hostas in large planter boxes

swanlake999
9 years ago

I am a newbie gardener who has been growing hostas in pots for several years. I am planning to divide them in the fall (zone 8b) and would like to move them into a large planter box to form a border along the back wall of our garage. (Part sun, part shade). The ground underneath is clay, so digging down is very challenging. We will be building the planter box in the next few weeks. It will be about 20 feet long. (Maybe that qualifies as a raised bed!). If anyone can suggest a reasonable width for the box and recommend the soil depth, it would be very much appreciated! My hostas should have been divided years ago, so I will break down 6 pots into about 24 plants. .

Many thanks in advance for your help.

This post was edited by Swanlake999 on Mon, Aug 18, 14 at 22:12

Comments (6)

• Babka NorCal 9b
    9 years ago

So you are going to "quarter" each pot? How big are the pots? Actually hostas never "need" to be divided. They just get bigger and wonderfuller...I like that new word. It really does depend on the hosta. Some require more room than others. Whatchu got? If you want your Sagae to get over 7 feet wide, or your Pandora's Box to get up to 1 ft. wide, it will all depend on whatchu got?

-Babka

• swanlake999
    Original Author
    9 years ago