Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
zkathy

Halcyon or Mississippi Delta

zkathy z7a NC
10 years ago

This is pretty embarrassing. I got several bare root hostas from Hallson's, put four big ones in a bucket to soak, planted the Niagara Falls, dug the hole for the Mississippi Delta, planted it and then realized I may have planted the wrong one. I snagged a Halcyon because it was on sale, but it really looks like the MD. The one not planted yet has purple spots on the petioles. Did I plant the Halcyon since it looks so blue in the picture?

Comments (16)

• don_in_colorado
    10 years ago

It looks to me that yes, 'Halcyon' is the planted one. I say that because even as an immature plant, 'Mississippi Delta' often already has developed the slightly rippled edges I see in your pic. And the planted hosta in your pic has that pretty blue color. Anyway, that's my guess. I'm not very experienced, so if someone more learned comes along and corrects me, I won't take it personally. : )

Cheers,
    Don B.

• ctopher_mi
    10 years ago

Hi Kathy,

Yes, Halcyon is the one in the ground and Mississippi Delta the one not planted yet. The Halcyon is stretching out a bit from being in the shade and I had to take a couple of the leaves off Mississippi Delta that had already turned completely yellow or it would have appeared larger.

Chris

• bragu_DSM 5
    10 years ago

Halcyon upside down cake?

jk

Dave

• Steve Massachusetts
    10 years ago

Here's the picture uprighted.

• Steve Massachusetts
    10 years ago

Halcyon is blue and medium sized. Missisppi Delta is green, large and has roundish leaves that look like a river delta. Hence the name. It looks to me like you have Halcyon in the ground. Chris will know. Email him.

Here's my MD.

This post was edited by steve_mass on Sat, Sep 28, 13 at 19:29

• zkathy z7a NC
    Original Author
    10 years ago