Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
funnthesun

overwintering hostas--how big is big enough?

In another thread, Ken mentioned that he sometimes placed smaller pots of hostas into a larger pot together to overwinter and then back in the smaller pots come spring. That led me to start thinking about the pots that I will be overwintering this year and that begs to ask the question: What size pot will overwinter? In other words, what size pot is big enough and where is the cutoff for you? I know this will be different for different zones, I imagine, but a standard will probably still surface for this.

I am thinking that I have several that are in too small of a pot to overwinter but I had not even considered it until I read that thread. REALLY glad I read that thread! This is my first year overwintering in pots, don't want to lose any babies!

Comments (12)

• hostafreak
    10 years ago

Well,I don't really grow in pots,but if you consider seedlings that come up near the parent plant,they survive very well,in my garden,every year. I have had maybe one,or two plants in 4 inch pots make it through the winter,but they got covered up with leaves in the garden. This is about all I have to offer on the subject. Phil,in zone 6.

• Steve Massachusetts
    10 years ago

I've wintered over successfully miniatures in 4 inch pots. I know of people who winter over seedlings in 16oz cups.

The one thing you don't want is a small plant to be in a large pot. The enemy in winter is moisture. During dormancy a Hosta needs no water. No water, as in none. A small plant in a large pot is liable to get over watered in the fall or gather moisture if uncovered (even if it's tipped on its side) in winter and then rot. It's better to leave plants somewhat root bound now and then repot them to larger containers in the Spring. Don't repot now. And don't overthink this thing.

Steve

This post was edited by steve_mass on Sat, Oct 12, 13 at 12:34

• funnthsun z7A - Southern VA
    Original Author