Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
grantgarden22

Hacksaw seed-seedlings

Hello everyone! This is my first time growing hostas from seeds and writing something on this forum. My 'hacksaw' hosta had several seedpods, and harvested the seeds. Would anybody know what the seedlings may end up like? Thin and wavy like 'hacksaw' or large and "normal" hosta like-leaves? I mainly planted the seeds in hopes of the thin and wavy leaves. I just planted the seeds a few days ago, I am in big trouble if they all sprout!
Thanks,
grantgarden2

Comments (15)

• Jon 6a SE MA
    9 years ago

It all depends on what the seeds were pollinated by. Generally seedlings will be plain and green. I have a lot of naturally propagated seedlings and while they are mostly plain green they do have different hues and textures and I think they are great to have around. If you had nothing but Hacksaw and there are no other hosta within pollinating range, you would get wavy. The chances of this are slim. If you want to do this you will have to learn how to do the pollinating yourself and cut out the bees and insects. Hacksaw is a great hybridizer and an aggressive grower so you should have good success.

You will have fun and you will have to cull a lot of seedlings, but good luck and hello and welcome.

Jon

• in ny zone5
    9 years ago

Most open pollinated seeds would have been pollinated using own pollen by insects. Waviness many times does not show up in a seedling but lateron.
    A very good resource for growing seeds / seedlings is the Hosta Seed Growers Forum. You can ask your questions there and get expert advice.
    Bernd

Here is a link that might be useful: Hosta Seed Growers Forum

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    9 years ago

first ... good luck.. its fun ...

second... a lot of the lance shaped plants.. throw lance shaped seedlings ...

as to this comment: I am in big trouble if they all sprout!