Return to the Hot Topics Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
"Furor" over Michelle Obama's scheduled commencement speech

Posted by heri_cles (My Page) on
Sat, Apr 19, 14 at 2:52

Actually, just some racists in Kansas who are setting the worst example for students.

Here is a link that might be useful: These people aren't racists they just hate the Obamas

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: "Furor" over Michelle Obama's scheduled commencement speech

So these kids can either say with pride that “The First Lady of the United States spoke at my graduation from high school” or they can “My mother managed to get a speech by the First Lady of the United States cancelled for my graduation from high school so that my Aunt Martha could get a seat and watch me accept a diploma.”

For what it’s worth, I’ve been to plenty of graduations where seats are limited. What’s the big deal? When I graduated from college, I had four tickets total.

o

When my daughter received her first master's degree at OSU, GWB was the speaker. It was very inconvenient for visitors. Security required a 4 hour start for 72,000 of us to get to our seats.

Some people complain about waiting 4 hours to vote, but we wanted to witness our daughter's recognition so the "inconvenience" was worth it.

Neither the guest speaker nor the university staff speakers impressed me or interested me. I was there to honor my daughter's accomplishments, not them.

o

Mike Wallace spoke at my graduation from grad school, which of course did not require the kind of security of which you speak, brush. My guests were actually impressed with having a man of his stature (at the time) as a speaker.

BTW, the university had so many grads/unergrads that it took 45 minutes to just get them all marched across campus into the stadium and meant closing off city streets, also an inconvenience.

Also BTW, while I was no GWB supporter, I would have thought it was pretty special to have the POTUS speak at my graduation.

o