Return to the Hot Topics Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Tool?.... Weapon?

Posted by ronalawn82 z9FL (ronalawn08@gmail.com) on
Sun, Dec 23, 12 at 12:00

A long time ago and a far way from here, I had the great experience of living in a Wapishana village. In my short stint as a teacher, I observed that the tool for obtaining meat and fish was the 'bow and arrow'. Every home had at least one; and it was used in fishing and killing small animals.
Whenever there was a fight it was usually 'man to man; hand to hand'. The head teacher, the Touchau (village captain), the shopkeeper and the Government's DFO (District Field Officer) each possessed a gun - the "Savage 410" combination rifle or shotgun.
Life was simple.
Life was good.
The first weapon used was the bow and arrow, hitherto a tool. I suppose that when 'man to man; hand to hand' became inadequate, protagonists turned to what was readily available and had a certain "ease-of-use", the result of practice.
Some years later I worked in an agricultural environment where the cutlass (machete) was the single tool that was required in any field operation - even a field mechanic killing a snake! Again readily available and easy to use, the result of practice.
The weapon most often used to disfigure, maim or kill was the cutlass.
Here in the United States when I read of the gun being used in every event from road rage to mass murder, forgive me if I conclude that the weapon must be readily available and is "user-friendly" - if you will please pardon the inappropriate use of the term.
My opinion is that any effort to reduce the use of the gun as a weapon against society must start at the intersection of availability - and correct use and care.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Tool?.... Weapon?

• Posted by tapla z5b-6a mid-MI (My Page) on
    Sun, Dec 23, 12 at 14:51