Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
val1_gw

Does my 5:1:1 mix look right?

val1
11 years ago

So this is my first time making this mix. I used Repti Bark, sifted (and rinsed) perlite and sphagnum peat, in the 5:1:1 ratio respectively. I plan to use this for my lipstick plant and rooted goldfish plant cuttings. Do I need to add more of something for these plants or add something else? Can I use it for a peace lily?

{{gwi:67713}}

{{gwi:67714}}

Comments (17)

• meyermike_1micha
    11 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

It looks quite awesome!

I would use a tablespoon of lime per gallon.

Nice job! I can see the happiest roots in that mix:-)

Mike

• greenman28 NorCal 7b/8a
    11 years ago

Yes, indeed, a good looking mix. As Mike says, add the Dolomitic Lime.
    The bark is uncomposted. That's a minor deviation that will require more watering
    up front - until the mix settles a bit and "binds." I've never used composted bark
    in my 5-1-1, so you're in good company. I prefer the uncomposted bark because it
    makes the mix last so much longer. Just be aware that it is a deviation.

How 'bout a shot of slow-release fertilizer?

Josh

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    11 years ago

Tip - generally, when you make the 5:1:1 mix, you're looking for bark that has some fine material in it, that has dust up to 3/8" material. The gradual variation in particle size helps to keep things homogeneous. I'm afraid you might get some stratification in your mix because of the abrupt disparity in particle size. {{gwi:20507}}
    {{gwi:20508}}

The gritty mix, on the other hand, uses particles that should be fairly close to each other in size, which helps to prevent stratification and keep things homogeneous.

Still, you should see a marked improvement in root health in the mix you've made. As Josh mentioned, don't be afraid to use your fertilizer regularly, even in winter - and the lime Mike mentioned would be a good idea, too.

Al

• val1
    Original Author