Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
eileen_plants

dishwashing liquid added to plant water

eileen_plants
17 years ago

I am reading a houseplants book by Jerry Baker who recommends adding 1 ounce dishwashing liquid per gallon to water used for watering plants. This is to allow the soil to absorb the water right down to the roots. Has anyone done this? It sounds strange to me, but I'm new to plant care. Does it work?

Comments (30)

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    17 years ago

Well, surfactants (detergents) make water wetter & allow it to "seep" or flow into all the tiny places much more readily. It also tends to negate the effect of how Fe-containing molecules form on organic surfaces, which turns soils hydrophobic (water-repellent) as they dry to below about 30% moisture content.

Maybe it's just me, but I think that a 1:128 solution of H2O:detergent sounds pretty concentrated for use as either a topical or root drench. There are organic compounds in roots (oils eg) that are readily broken down by detergents, which I cannot imagine to be a good thing. A better strategy is to use a porous soil & water frequently enough to prevent a drop below 30% soil moisture and forgo the detergent.

Al

• eileen_plants
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Thanks, Al, I will take your advice...sounds a lot safer, not to mention saner!!

• karam8672
    17 years ago

Anyone know if true soap (rather than detergent) would work similarly? I use a bit of Dr. Bronner's Magic Soap, which is a natural liquid castile (i.e. vegetable oil based) soap in my misting water to deter insects, and I have watered with it before to get rid of fungus gnats. So would this type of soap "make water wetter"?

• farmerted361
    17 years ago