Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
topshopper19

What are the most common problems encountered with peace lily's?

topshopper19
9 years ago

Hello,

Can someone point out some of the most common problems encountered with peace lily's?

I want to plan ahead.

Thanks

:)

x

Comments (9)

• christine1950
    9 years ago

They tend to dry out quickly if they arent watered correctly, I keep mine moist but not wet., You'll get alot of great advice here....

• bkempress
    9 years ago

watering is pretty much the biggest issue

water but don't over water give it light but not too much if you want to have flowers I don't think they flower in full sun I could be wrong Im a newbie as well

Mine is on my table about 4 feet from my window and I water when it feels dry. Have really good drainage so the roots wont rot add a good amount perilite in your soil to help

If the leaves start to turn yellow somethings wrong its either over watered or needs to re-pot (re-potting was needed in my case)

when the plant is watered the leaves kinda have a bounce to it..the more water is needs the less bounce the plant has so that's the easiest indication of the water level in the plant

they say to mist..mine hasnt changed from misting or not misting but this plant I do like to baby a little so I do mist it maybe once a week

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    9 years ago

By far, the most common issue is soil related, - usually a soil that retains an excessive volume of soil for so long it affects root function and/or causes root rot. This issue is often oversimplified and filed under the 'over-watering' heading, but is actually more complicated than that simplification.

Closely following over-watering are nutritional issues or problems associated with unfavorable lighting, the former often inextricably connected with soils that hold too much water.