Return to the Hoya Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
WANTED: Hoya help

Posted by maryataylor_2008 (My Page) on
Thu, Jun 19, 08 at 10:35

I would like to start getting hoyas. Right now now I just have Hoya stripes, it is the one with really small leaves. and a cutting from string of hearts hoya. And will anyone let me know if The lipstick plant is a hoya? I have a large one of them. I have seen plants at the store that look like hoyas, but they do not say hoya on them. Do they usually say hoya on the labels? Please help me. I am very new to the hoya plant and really want to learn more about them. Thanks in advance. Mary

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: WANTED: Hoya help

Hello Mary,
First of all you need to post this in the discussion section of the Hoya forum here in Garden Web. You will get more feedback on your questions. This is the exchance section for the Hoya forum, it's for trading cuttings.

Your Hoya Stripes, can you post a picture of it? (on the discussion forum). The box stores (Lowes, Home Depo, Target and Walmart etc) carry an Exotic Angel Hoya named hoya stripes which is actually Hoya Curtisii, if that is indeed what hoya you have. There are about 300 species of hoyas so when you say 'small leaves' it could be alot of them. That's when it's good to post a picture, I personally think it's best to post a picture of the whole plant (to see growth pattern) and then a close up picture of a leaf. Even if you post a picture sometimes you may not still have a definate ID based on the leaves on your hoya, you may have to wait until it blooms.

As for the string of hearts hoya, haven't heard of it. I have herd of string of pearls which is not a hoya. There is a hoya called Kerrii or Sweatheart hoya with actual heart shaped leaves. Here's a picture of a couple of my Kerri's.
Variegated heart leaf kerrii
Variegated heart leaf kerrii

Hoya Kerrii
H. Kerrii

Hoya Kerrii 'reverse'
H. Kerrii

This is not a Kerrii but it does have heart shaped leaves. It's called Hoya Deykeae