Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tigerdawn_gw

New Hoya! Please help ID

tigerdawn
14 years ago

I went to Lowes today to celebrate getting a raise. I had heard there were new Hoyas there. This one is labeled H. lacunosa 'Royal Flush'. I know EA can't label plants right so what do I actually have? (Ignore the water spots)

Comments (8)

• pirate_girl
    14 years ago

I believe that's exactly what the label says. I'd let it adjust & settle in, giving it bright indirect light & observing how long it takes for the mix to dry out. I assume it's an EA, they can be difficult that way, so I'd just study it first.

I've got a Speckled Lacunosa (likely EA, but not labeled) whose watering needs I'm still learning after 2 months.

• tigerdawn
    Original Author
    14 years ago

A correct label? This must be a first! Thanks.

• quinnfyre
    14 years ago

Yup, looks like my Royal Flush. Except yours is much much bigger : ) Mine is just a cutting that is starting to take off. The new growth is really interesting looking; on mine, it is almost black. Can't wait til my cutting gets as big as your plant!

• Denise
    14 years ago

It's my understanding that 'Royal Flush' is a sport that came out of EA's greenhouse and so it was named by them. It's a beauty and I must watch for one!

Denise in Omaha

• tishfromwis
    14 years ago

I'm so "green" with envy Dawn!!! I've been making weekly trips to two different Lowe's for a month now looking for 'Royal Flush'. Since your in zone 7 and I'm in zone 5, maybe in two to four weeks we'll get some up here. I hope they send more than one or two to each store--unless I get the "one" or one of the "two". How many were at your Lowe's? I'm really happy for you Dawn. Keep your fingers crossed for me!!!

Tish

• puglvr1
    14 years ago

Very Nice Royal Flush Dawn...it is huge!