Return to the Hoya Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Comparison

Posted by denise 5 (My Page) on
Fri, Apr 16, 10 at 9:13

Both my big-leaved verticillata and my variegated verticillata are blooming right now. The flowers are very close to the same, but the corona on the variegated form is slightly lighter... regular:
Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com
...variegated:

And while I'm posting, my latifolia finally opened. It looks surprisingly like verticillata, too!

They're all very fragrant, BTW.

Denise in Omaha

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Comparison

And all very beautiful!!! Different fragrances? Can you describe them? I imagine the two verticillata are similar?

~Tish~

o

I second that! They're all just beautiful! You sure can bloom anything Denise! They do look very similar to each other with slightly different shades, but blooms that pretty...No one minds,lol...

o

You know, I'm not good at distinguishing fragrances. They all smell sweet, kind of perfumey. The verticillatas have the strongest fragrance. The latifolia I have to put my nose pretty close to smell.

And thanks for all the kind comments. I have a lot of happy looking plants - they seem to think summer is here, like the outside stuff does, probably because of our extraordinarily warm days we've had the last couple of weeks. Tonight's 35 degree low will give the outside stuff a reality check!

Denise in Omaha

o

Beautiful Denise! Are the flowers relativly the same size when you compare verticillata and latifolia?

We are forecast for a two degree below freezing night and cool weekend after a week with a summer like high approcahing 25C. Time to bring in the plants I have outside, no Hoyas though.

Mike

o

That's too funny Denise!!! You must live near me. Same kind of weather. Kind of messes up Spring blooms and aggravates me to no end. Also, it gets really windy and blows the blooms off the magnolias and the petals off all of the Spring bulbs. Can't do nothing but move and I'm staying put...

~Tish~

o