Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
denise_gw

Longifolia...

Denise
12 years ago

...is one I'm hoping to get more cuttings of this year to "plump up" my one puney cutting. I'm not complaining, mind you! I got that one cutting in my Liddle order last summer and it rooted quickly and now, as it barely begins to grow, it shot a peduncle and is now open...

It's a pretty flower, not extraordinary in either size or beauty, but the fragrance knocks my socks off! Can anyone tell me what it reminds them of? It's crazy powerful if you put your nose right up to it, even a little off-putting, but from a few inches away, it's intoxicating. Very sweet smelling. I'm not good at comparing scents unless you're talking about very common ones, like rose, lilacs, gardinias...

On the other hand, I suspect some people must have quite a sensitive sense of smell. I hear some think DS-70 smells like butter, but I have never detected a scent, nose-on-flower or plant loaded with flowers. Recently, a lady in my cactus club said that multiflora/javanica "smells wonderful." I'm like, "Huh??" I've never noticed a fragrance at all!! Makes me jealous!

Denise in Omaha

Comments (9)

• kellyknits
    12 years ago

Wow, those are really pretty! Great shot, Denise!

I'm not good with scents either...however, I do think DS-70 smells a bit like butter!

Kelly

• puglvr1
    12 years ago

That's BEAUTIFUL Denise...is it white or does it have a hint of pink in there? Either way its a beauty!

Thanks for sharing!

• mdahms1979
    12 years ago

Congratulations on the longifolia blooms Denise. I don't have this one but I do have Hoya shepherdii and it's blooms smell amazing as well. I am not sure if I could describe the scent either but it sort of reminds me of a soft baby powder floral scent.
    I can definitely smell my DS-70 and my multiflora (Cyrtoceras floribundum) smells at different times of the day but you have to go right up to the flowers.

Mike

• klyde
    12 years ago