Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lovingmy4babies

Where do you get your Hoyas?

lovingmy4babies
13 years ago

Hello! I've been lurking around the Hoya forum for several days now. I'm just getting into Hoyas(again, I had some almost 2 years ago, but I couldn't really 'get into them'lol), and I've already got what can be picked up at the local big box stores. There are really no nurseries here that do Hoyas, and I just don't know who to trust online. Do any of you order from online greenhouses? Or Ebay? What are some reputable ones that don't charge an arm and a leg, plus shipping? lol

Comments (11)

• greedygh0st
    13 years ago

Are you interested in cuttings at all or just rooted plants?

• mitzicos
    13 years ago

Hi,

I only order online, and I trust Aleya Garden, SRQ Hoyas, Paul Shirley, now I'm trying a new seller epiphytica.

Good luck for you

Mitzi

• lovingmy4babies
    Original Author
    13 years ago

greedyghost: I'd like rooted, but if they are a good price, I'd try cuttings as well.

mitzicos: Thanks for the info- I'll check them out!

• mdahms1979
    13 years ago

Shipping potted plants is expensive so cuttings are a better value. Cuttings take a couple years on average to bloom but some are faster and others quite a bit slower.
    What country are you in? There are some great sources but importing vs buying at home complicates things.

Mike

• greedygh0st
    13 years ago

Personally, if I want a rooted plant, I go with Joni @ SRQ Hoyas every time.

They're about this size:

...so imo, the prices are very reasonable as, for a cutting of the same species you'd pay somewhere between half as much to equal price. The plants are always in robust health and she treats them, so I've never had one arrive with pests. She also sells cuttings that arrive in nice shape, although it's a bit hit and miss with what's available. So, you just have to try your luck, but she's easy to talk to.