Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lightning96

Hoya australis flowers --- can you help me ID? ssp. australis or

lightning96
12 years ago

This was my first hoya from just a short 12 months ago, so I am thrilled by the flowers!!!! ... now I'm just wondering about the variety. I bought it as Hoya australis ssp. australis, but looked on www.myhoyas.com and I think that the flowers look much more like Hoya australis ssp. tenuipes. I'd love to hear all of your thoughts. If you need leaf pics let me know.

Comments (12)

• kellyknits
    12 years ago

Was reading the myhoyas.com site and it sounds like the answer is going to be in the leaves! Says australis ssp australis has pubescent leaves and australis ssp tenuipes has smooth leaves.

Beautiful flowers! Feel free to post leaf and plant photos! I love looking at pictures!

Kelly

• puglvr1
    12 years ago

Its absolutely Beautiful!! I'm no expert when it comes to Iding most hoyas...I do have the 'fuzzy leaf' australis and I thought I read here that mine is H. australis ssp. australis( I think it used to be called H. keysii) I think the tenuipes has the smooth leaves? I will let others that have more experience chime in. I just wanted to comment how pretty the blooms are...Congrats! I'm still waiting for mine to bloom :o(...thanks for the picture!

• cpawl
    12 years ago

I feel from what I can see of the leaves it looks like australis ssp. tenuipes.The flowers are one my favorites.I look forward for mine to flower.

Cindy

• greedygh0st
    12 years ago

I agree with Kelly's assessment that it is tenuipes. According to CB, the main differences are:

Hoya australis subsp. australis has smaller leaves, which are covered on both sides with "fuzz."

Hoya australis subsp. tenuipes has larger shiny, completely bald leaves.

Hoya australis subsp. australis flowers in autumn in US, when it condescends to bloom at all, which is rarely.