Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
john_49

help a newby

John.49
12 years ago

Guys, this is John in Largo, FL already hooked. Can you tell me some of the ones with larger leaves and also varigated ones. I am still learning the names and I want to order more different ones. I trust you guys and know that you will tell me the ones to get started with. I have six of the more common ones. Thanks for your help. Gone from teaching to hoyas wow what a difference. I love gardening and have many plants.

John

Comments (9)

• greedygh0st
    12 years ago

Hi John,

large leaf

rigida macrophylla
    clandestina
    latifolia
    polystachya
    surigaoensis
    pentaphlebia
    sp. 97005
    loyceandrewsiana
    tjadasmalangensis

I guess a relevant question is, are you looking for dinner plate sized leaves or just generally showy largeish leaves, like, say, callistophylla?

Idk if I can help you much on variegation, since that's not my cup of tea. There are so many species that have variegated forms, from multiflora to pachyclada, but most of them aren't that common to collection yet. Every year there are new exciting additions! Personally in this category I like.

variegated

variegated macrophylla
    incrassata Eclipse
    kerrii Chariot's Choice
    verticillata albomarginate

I think that variegated australis is pretty, too, although I don't own it.

• John.49
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Large showy leaves, I also like the small leaves. I have seen some pictures where the leaves look like the are reddish and green. I just love this plant.
    Thanks so much, I have never know a more helpful group. Glad I found this forum.
    Thanks again

• pirate_girl
    12 years ago

Hey John & Welcome,

I believe one of the Hoyas w/ leaves that'll redden w/ more sun would be Obscura, nice, handsome leaves.