Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
greedygh0st

Hoya in a violin shop/Are Hoyas "hard"?

greedygh0st
9 years ago

Posted by amsten09 6 (amsten_09@yahoo.com) on Fri, May 9, 14 at 17:47

I have no experience with hoya at all. That being said I will share the beautiful specimen I laid eyes on today. I went to a local violin shop in portland to buy strings and in the window was the largest hoya plant I have seen. Vines kris krossing around the whole side of the shop and it had numerous beautiful blooms. I wanted to ask for a start but I thought that would be strange seeings how the shop owner has no clue who I am. Plus I don't know what I would do with it. :P

This being said I would like to know more about this awesome plant. from what I have read above i am going to take a guess and say they are somewhat hard to grow/bloom?

Comments (5)

• greedygh0st
    Original Author
    9 years ago

That's funny you had your first Hoya experience in a violin shop, since many of the fragrances of Hoyas have notes of smells I associate with instruments and old music buildings.

--

There are a lot of different Hoyas and, of course, some of them are hard to grow and/or bloom. But, I would not say that most Hoyas have or deserve a reputation for being hard to grow. They just need well-draining soil (like mixing equal portions of bark, perlite, and potting soil) and a lot of light. They root from cuttings easily.

--

They do have a bit of a reputation for being hard to bloom, but that is just a matter of people not understanding the nature of the plant.

Misunderstanding 1: Not understanding how much light Hoyas need.

Hoyas will grow just fine in low light, but they need high light conditions to bloom. So, a lot of people will have a Hoya for years and think "it keeps growing, but it never blooms - why?" And the answer is, they need to put it in a nice bright east or south facing window and 9/10 times that will solve the problem.