Return to the Hoya Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Plant arrangements with hoyas

Posted by erik1on1 France (My Page) on
Fri, May 31, 13 at 7:29

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to this site as a member but use it often to answer my questions about all things plant related.

My question is about using hoyas in plant arrangements. I have a zee zee plant sitting on and old highchair that I would like to repot and incorporate a vine around the base. I have a hoya that I would like to use for this purpose, as the two would look amazing married together.

Has anyone used a hoya in this way? Can't seem to find much on the subject, but both plants based on their care profiles would seem to go well together. Both plants are very healthy and I don't want to cause them any harm. Just wanted to check if it something the experts would recommend.

Many thanks in advance,

Erik

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Plant arrangements with hoyas

Hi Erik,

Don't know that I'm an expert, by any means, but I DO grow both plants & don't know how this will work as they have rather different watering requirements.

ZZ, being succulent-like w/ their water storing stems & bulblets / tubers (down below the soil), they need less frequent watering than Hoyas. They also need less light than Hoyas. Not sure how they'd fare w/ more light & more water.

If you try this, I'd make sure to have the fastest draining mix possible.

o

I think it is possible but she does have a point. The zz plant actually perfeers bright indirect light pirate. therefore it can possibly work. But I would still buy a sharp draining mix

o

Teengardener and Pirate girl,