Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
houndhome

In search of Shooting Star

Houndhome
9 years ago

Hi Everyone - I am just getting into Hoyas and I would really like to find a Shooting Star Hoya. I have checked locally at Lowes, HD and Walmart and cant find that particular one. Do you have any reputable online places that you would recommend me ordering from?? Thank you in advance!

Comments (17)

• greedygh0st
    9 years ago

The proper name for the plant you are looking for is Hoya multiflora or Hoya javanica. So, try using those as your search terms.

Do you need a potted plant or is a cutting also okay?

• Houndhome
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Greedyghost - Since I am having a hard time finding them, I would be happy with either one. I didn't know they also went by Hoya Javanica, I will keep an eye out for that name as well. Thank you!

• greedygh0st
    9 years ago

Well, multiflora and javanica are two different plants, but they get mixed up with each other a lot. If you are looking for a plant with that type of flower, you will be fine with either one.

That's good you're open to rooting your own, since most Hoya vendors sell cuttings. I've heard before that multiflora/javanica are hard to root, but I've rooted both and they did not seem hard to me - just slow - so you'd really want to keep them humid to prevent moisture loss. I rooted in hydroton, myself.

I couldn't see anyone selling this plant in the U.S. at the moment. I've noticed in the past that it has taken people some time to track this plant down. It's not rare, so I'm not sure why. Maybe it's just really that popular? Or maybe most Hoya vendors just don't bother.

If I wanted one right this second, I'd mail Thailand for it because it's so hard to track down. But then you would want to order a whole bunch of plants and not the thickest leaved plant, yadda yadda yadda.