Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
laelae_mtl

Hoya getting yellow leaves

laelae_mtl
9 years ago

Hello everyone !
I'm new in the gardening at home adventure and it seems I've made some beginner mistakes !

I found 3 weeks ago my hoya under watered (he had a lot of wrinkled leaves). I decided then to watered it under the shower because the soil was like a rock.
3 days later, because the soil seemed almost dry and no changes in the leaves was noticed, I did it again. The day after I repotted it in a larger pot.

Since then I notice a few leaves begining to turn yellow, all on the same foot (I have 10 in my pot).

Maybe I overwatered it ? I thought doing it only once will be ok but it seems not... What can I do now ? Is it still possible to rescue him ?

Some pic to see :

By the way, forgive my misspelling, I'm a french Canadian !
Thank you for any help !

This post was edited by laelae_mtl on Sat, May 3, 14 at 19:23

Comments (21)

• greentoe357
    9 years ago

Overall, the plant does not look bad at all. Some yellowing/dying of the lowest oldest leaves is natural.

If only one vine is affected, it may not be that bad either.

When you repotted, did you get rid of all the old soil (that was "like a rock") and replaced it with new? Or did you put the old root ball into the center of the pot and added new soil around it? The latter is not a good idea for old collapsed soils - one of the reasons why is because the "rock" will still be sitting there in the middle and may be dry, even if you see the new soil on top being moist. The former is also controversial, by the way, because some plants do not like bare-root repots like that. I've done it in the past, and some of my hoyas went through a multi-month adjustment periods - although mine did survive and are thriving. I would do this again, but I'd also take cuttings to root as well just for insurance in case the plant dies after repotting.