Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
amber_m_gw

hindu rope hoya?

amber_m
11 years ago

hi, im totally new to hoyas and i found a hindu rope hoya that im very interested in purchasing, the only thing is that i cant find too much info about them when it comes to how people like them. how much different are they from a regular hoya? is this a good choice for a hoya beginner? im looking forward to seeing what people think. thanks for your input!

Comments (11)

• greedygh0st
    11 years ago

Hey Amber :)

Hoya compacta (aka Hindu Rope) is really a matter of taste just like any other Hoya, I suppose, but I enjoy the style of your question. It rather inspires me to periodically throw out a "Hoya ______ - how do you like it?" thread just to see what jumps to people's minds.

There are two main things people say when it comes to compacta.

First, they always say "mealies like to hide in the crinkled leaves, making them difficult to exterminate." A lot of people don't grow compacta just because this ominous prophecy scares their pants off. But I don't think that's any reason not to own a plant. Mealies will find some goofy place to hide themselves regardless of leaf shape. It just means that you can't use spray methods to exterminate pests with this plant - you need to use something you apply during watering or if the plant is small enough to submerge, try drowning them out in soapy water.

The other main thing people say is that compacta apparently likes a bit more water than carnosa. I can't really comment on this because I killed my compacta Regalis. I had a hard time repotting it from the EA soil it came in and never quite figured out the pacing of watering it. I had the same problem with the carnosa Krimson Princess I got at the same time and I had to eventually pull out the remaining chunks and repot them. I know they 'fixed' the EA soil, but apparently I am still too dumb to handle it.