Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bama_gardener

ID on hoyas

bama_gardener
12 years ago

I am a novice at growing hoyas and still totally confused at ID'ing the ones I have recently purchased. There are so many experienced and knowledgeable enthusiasts here, I am hoping some of my confusion will be cleared up. All of these are EA plants purchased either at Lowe's or The Home Depot.

I'm pretty sure this one is Chelsea.

I have no clue what this one could be

this is another picture of the leaves

I'm wondering if this is Royal Flush

and a picture of the bloom

Any ID at all on these will be much appreciated.

I enjoy reading all the posts and learning from everyone with such vast knowledge. I am even tempted to start a database as greedyghost is using, but with only 6 hoyas I might should wait a little while.

Thanks everyone for all your help.

Beverly

Comments (8)

• ima_digger
    12 years ago

I think you're right on the first pic as carnosa Chelsea. It looks like the one I purchased last year from Lowes with a name tag. Second one may be bilobata or brevialata. EA usually has that tag on the pot. And last one is lacunosa 'Royal Flush. It could be Snow Caps which looks the same to me. EA seems to chage names each year to confuse us and to sell us more plants that end up to be the same.

• greedygh0st
    12 years ago

Congratulations on your new purchases, Beverly!

1. Chelsea
    2. Some kind of Aeschynanthus (a Gesneriad relative to African Violets). You'll have to wait for a bloom for a positive ID, but it resembles my 'Thai Pink.'
    3. Definitely not Snow Caps, which is very distinct from Royal Flush and Ruby Sue, imo. It has very strong pale green variegation and green vines. Seems like Royal Flush vs Ruby Sue to me, due to the speckles.

• mdahms1979
    12 years ago