Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
abigail1280

Hoya Seeds

abigail1280
13 years ago

Has anyone ever tried growing a hoya from seeds? I've acquired some hoya seeds. I know that they need to be kept moist, but does anyone have any advice on soil, etc? Thanks!

Comments (6)

• puglvr1
    13 years ago

Hi Abigail, I've never done it before...but have read a few members having great success with it. I linked a post from one them (Jan).Hope the link helps you. If you do a search on "seed pods" I'm sure you will find a few others...Have fun and Good luck!

Here is a link that might be useful: Eye Candy...

• ladygreensleeves
    13 years ago

Hi Abigail....I used a method very simular to the one described in the link above. I used those clamshell containers that you get goodies from the deli and bakery from at the grocery store to start them in. I put a thin layer of peat that I misted with warm water, than the seeds on top and misted them with the warm water and closed the container. In about 24 to 48 hours you should see them start to sprout. Keep them moist with misting, and add peat as they grow and get taller. Good Luck!

• abigail1280
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Awesome, thanks for all the information! I feel a lot more confident about growing theses seeds. I should be getting them any day now, so I'll be ready to start growing them! Oh, one more question: about how long does it take for a hoya to mature and start producing flowers? Or does it vary with each different type? I thought I read somewhere about 3 years.

• eli_h
    13 years ago

Please look at my hoya carnosa seeds story

Here is a link that might be useful: hoya carnosa seeds story

• pirate_girl
    13 years ago

Hi Abigail,