Return to the Hoya Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Hoya square leaf - Hoya rotundifolia

Posted by suetran1 7NC (My Page) on
Mon, Jun 25, 12 at 20:55

Another one, first time flower, it is really cute..
Thanks for looking
sue

Hoya square leaf,(Hoya rotundifolia)
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Hoya square leaf - Hoya rotundifolia

Hi Sue. It's truly adorable, in EVERY stage! Can't wait for mine to bloom, now.

Denise in Omaha

o

i have a cutting of this rooting right now, soooo excited now for it to grow up and bloom for me... love it! that top picture makes me think of yogurt covered raisins! all of them are so adorable.

o

Sue,

How long the cut takes to flower? Just an average of course. I've been collecting hoyas for 3 years and only one bloom to me.

Thanks for sharing such nice pictures.

Mitzi

o

Congratulations Sue! I just love Hoya flower photos where the nectar forms those little reflective beads.

Mike

o

Thanks Denise, Amber,
Mitzi
This cutting is about 3 years old, very easy to grow. Now have a lot of buds, less leaves than anyone.
I only use nutricote or osmocote slow-release, 1 spoon on top, in the summer and blooming buster Peter 1/week.
I grow all my hoyas with orchids outside in the summer, under shade, and water abundance.
sue

o

This one always looks like an alien plant to me. xD I agree with Denise that all the stages are equally beautiful. I actually have a Columnea orientandina whose adorable pink berries remind me of those buds.

o

Hiya Sue,

Welcome back & thanks for the superb pix (as usual). This is a pretty cool looking set of blooms.

Am I the only one bothered by this plant's name?

If the plant has square leaves, why is it named rotundifolia (which off the Latin means round leafed)? Talk about confusing & contradictory.

o

I believe that was a typo above. The plant is called rotundiflora. I think that will make you happier. :P