Return to the Hoya Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Macgillivrayi springing into action.

Posted by tropicbreezent (My Page) on
Mon, Jul 7, 14 at 5:20

My H. mac. is developing buds, but so far only one peduncle. An old peduncle is showing no signs of growth as yet.

gw n 140707 02

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Macgillivrayi springing into action.

Congrats Tropic!! I'm still waiting for mine to develop a peduncle...but my Archboldiana is blooming as I type. Its a pretty large set of buds and very pretty! Its the very first time this Hoya has bloomed for me...I'm very excited!

Good luck with your Macgillivrayi!! Keep us posted...

o

Congrats, TB! I've been growing macgillivrayii for 8 years and one year, it did develop peduncles, but none of them budded up. I have several of them (it's one of my favorites for the leaves) and they're all growing like mad. Maybe this will be the year for me, too!

Pug, you're going to love archie's blooms. Mine bloomed once and it was very cool and huge! I'm pretty sure I still have a piece of it here somewhere, but it's lost it's label and it looks so much like macG that I won't know for sure until it blooms again. I wish someone would show archie, macG and onychoides leaves side-by-side with an explanation of the difference because I really can't tell them apart!

Denise in Omaha

o

Hi Denise, I couldn't agree with you more about the leaves of those 3 hoyas being SO similar. As a matter of fact for several weeks I wasn't sure it was Arch. that was blooming since even the buds look similar to my onychoides in the beginning...it wasn't until the buds were slightly larger was I able to tell it wasn't onychoides because they were greenish instead of pinkish for (onychoides).

Here's a picture of Arch. buds...

o

Here's another picture...They are pretty large

o

Last one...

o

Wow, really cool blooms, Pug. You don't need a macro lens for that!

I wish you luck with your buds (and your older peduncle), Tropicbreeze. :) :)