Return to the Hoya Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Is this H. fungii?

Posted by ima_digger 9 SE FL (My Page) on
Mon, Jul 11, 11 at 9:29

I got a cutting a few years back and it has grown quite a bit. It was supposed to be fungii. After looking at pictures of other fungii, I'm not so sure. This picture is from last year. If it gets too much sun the leaves get light in color. I've moved it to a different location and the leaves are changing in color, getting darker.

Here's the peduncle

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Is this H. fungii?

Hi, ima! It looks like a carnosa to me, but I'm not really an expert, so you may want to wait for some others to chime in on this one.

o

Its beautiful Ima! I agree with KC. It looks like a Carnosa to me also! At least that's my guess...

o

I agree because the darker contrasting veins are abscent from your plants leaves. Your plant looks so nice and healthy but does this mean you now have more than one carnosa now that it has been identified as something other than the name it came with?

Mike

o

I think what you have there is an obovata x. carnosa. Here's mine...

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

It's a great grower and faithful bloomer.

Denise in Omaha

o

Denise, the leaves on my plant resemble yours. I really didn't think it was fungii, but didn't think it was carnosa because of the rounded leaves. Leaves are quite large. The flowers look like carnosa flowers though. Oh well! Whatever it is, I love it. It blooms every year at this time and flowers last quite long, almost a full week or more.

o

There are several different forms of Hoya carnosa and some do have these more rounded leaves. The variety shown in the link is a good example of a large round leafed carnosa variety that was once called Hoya freaklea.
If you look at Hoya obovata's flowers they are reflexed back and obovata's hybrid also has these reflexed flowers. The plant in question has essentially flat flowers so it is unlikely that it is the carnosa x obovata hybrid.