Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
alpanther

Household Hints with Hoyas

alpanther
11 years ago

I've heard a bunch of them over the years: a bottle of rusty nails for iron, eggshell water, hydrogen peroxide, epsom salts, etc. I thought it might be good for us to have a list compiled specifically for things good for our hoyas!

I've never tried any of these ideas on them before. Have you?

Would a hoya like a small drink of diluted coffee, for example?

Comments (22)

• pirate_girl
    11 years ago

Pls. be careful if you do try some of these things, some are OK outdoors, not indoors. (Coffee grounds outside may be OK, but indoors may contribute to rot.)

Epsom Salts (when overdone) can damage the plants (memories of Cena's DH's Epsom Salts soak & the damage it did to some of her plants, Sans. I think, not Hoyas, I forget).

I'd take some of these ideas w/ a big grain of salt.

I've used both the H. Peroxide & the Epsom Salts, not so convinced it was helpful as I didn't do it again.

What would be the purpose of a small sip of coffee for them?

I don't believe in doing these things unless I know why, like what it's supposed to accomplish.

Still, interesting ideas.

• mdahms1979
    11 years ago

I agree, unless there is a problem then treatment is not necessary. You have to know what your remedy is intended to treat. If a plant likes a low pH growing media then perhaps coffee would be helpful but messing with pH with a potentially large swing in pH can be disastrous.
    There are some interesting ebooks etc on the web about this kind of stuff, mostly for yard and garden. The info is out there and I am sure it's useful in the right applications but be wary about fixing something that isn't broken because it can be a disaster. I speak from experience on that one and have learned not to tinker with stuff unless there is a well defined reason to do so.

Mike

• alpanther
    Original Author
    11 years ago