Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
aurorawa

noooooooooooooo!

aurorawa
9 years ago

I have NEVER had this happen. Ok, so one of my rooted pubicalyx cuttings had a vine on it with new leaf buds...and I DROPPED IT! I broke the vine! The rest of the plant is fine, just the growing tip broke!

I am new to pubicalyx, so my 2 questions might seem noobish, apologies in advance!

1. Do I go ahead and cut the broken vine at the closest node (which is 2 already grown leaves)

2. Will it send out a new tip, like my others do?

I can't post pictures right now, as I am juggling a couple of newborn kittens that need constant attention, but will post as soon as I can.

Comments (5)

• Denise
    9 years ago

Don't worry, it'll be fine. I'd go ahead and cut off the broken vine, doesn't really matter if you go back to the closest node, but I probably would. It may not develop a new vine there, but it will throw out a new one somewhere. I have four cats and I'm constantly finding plants crashed to the floor and it's rarely fatal (to the plants, at least!! Sometimes I want to ring some little necks! LOL!) Just found my crassicaulis on the floor of my bedroom - I was really more worried about the very interesting cache pot I have it in than the plant itself. Thankfully, both were fine. Grrr...little buggers!

Denise in Omaha

• aurorawa
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thanks, Denise! I was quite worried. I have a couple of cats myself, so I am familiar with the knock over and run and act innocent routine! They haven't touched my hoyas yet, as they are either mounted in wall sconces or hanging, but they mangled a couple of fine adenium specimens! If they were not so darn cute...

• greentoe357
    9 years ago