Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
greentoe357

which systemic indoors? and how?

greentoe357
9 years ago

I took in a lot of new plants this season. Some of them had mealies, but despite my noticing and treating them right away (with soap and alcohol), they kept popping up here and there over the last several weeks.

My collection has become more valuable, and the plants are rather close to each other, so I think a systemic treatment is in order. No kids or pets here. I've never done it before. I've heard Bayer Advanced Tree and Shrub (1.47% imidacloprid) mentioned many times before, but when I started looking closer now, I see people also mention the Bayer Advanced Rose and Flower (0.15% imidacloprid and 0.80% tebuconazole). Which one should I use? As long as we are here, I'll also treat other house plants, like orchids and philodendrons and such.

In the past I've also had spider mites and soil mites (not soil mealies - soil mites which are supposedly harmless). No scale, and nothing else harmful so far to my knowledge. Mentioning this to make sure I choose the right poison.

As for HOW to apply it, I am sure I'll have questions there as well, but first I want to make sure I am looking at the right product's label. Thanks.

Comments (5)

• vermonthoyas
    9 years ago

The one to use is Bayer Advanced Tree and Shrub and the soil needs to be good and drenched. I always used it at a rate of one ounce per gallon of water. I would weigh it on a kitchen scale, or use 2 TBSP/gallon. There was a gentleman on another forum at one time that claimed that was not nearly enough BATS, and he advocated for 6 oz/gal. All I know is the 1 oz/gal ratio, I never had a mealie.

• greedygh0st
    9 years ago

Well, as I told you via email, I'd tried using Bayers in the past, in extreme situations, and it failed to do the job. So, between it being so toxic, and it not appearing to work, I just stuffed it in my closet and went back to neem oil and dish soap.