Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
summer_fashion

Newbie needs advice for fluorescent bulbs

summer_fashion
13 years ago

Could someone out there tell me what is the correct fluorescent bulb to use for my new Hoya plants in the house over winter. I'm so confused about "warm" and "cold" bulbs and the different color spectrums. If you grow your Hoyas under lights could you please also tell me what your set up is and how close to the Hoyas do I put the lights? Also, could you please tell me where to buy these bulbs and are they very expensive? Thank you.

Comments (12)

• teisa
    13 years ago

Hi Summer welcome! I am new to growing Hoyas too but I just went through the lighting delimia myself. I didnt know if we needed the really expensive ones or if flourescent ones would do the trick. So, I first experimented with the less expensive set up and its working great for me.
    I purchased a shop light from Lowes. Then I bought the Plant/aquarium bulbs from there also. The light was only $10 and bulbs $10 each also. It is very inexpensive and the Hoyas seem to love it. But I don't know yet if this is enough light for them to bloom...someone else may have to comment on this thats been doing it longer. Hope it helps!

• mdahms1979
    13 years ago