Return to the Hoya Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
I'm pumped!!

Posted by denise 5 (My Page) on
Wed, Sep 1, 10 at 20:51

My mother was over for lunch Monday, and I was showing off a few of my Hoyas. I was showing her my GIANT leaf on my macrophylla that I grow in my sunroom, south window that only gets some sun in the winter months. There was a wayward vine that swung around as I pulled the giant leaf for her to see and... guess what? There are about 4 leafless nodes with peduncles on them!!!! I've been growing this one for probably 10 years without a hint of buds, so I just about hyperventilated when I saw them...

And as if that' isn't excting enough, apparently this multiple peduncle thing is typical of this species. My variegated mac produced a node of multiple peduncles pretty early on and I thought it was a fluke. But I'm seeing at least two per node, and they're only now devloping - two of the nodes look like they're pushing out at least 3 or 4 others!!

I'll post a pic when they bloom.

Denise in Omaha

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: I'm pumped!!

Denise! That is FANTASTIC!!! I can't wait to see pics. :)

Congrats,

Carolyn

o

Denise,

I'm excited and happy for you...and if you ever want to part with a cutting, let me know...

lisa

o

Congrats, Denise!

Keep us updated on the new peduncles and if they bloom!

Brad AKA Moonwolf

o

Denise I can just imagine how excited you must have been with such a surprise. It sounds like your plant is making up for not blooming all those years.

Mike

o

Looking forward to the photos!

o

Thanks to all... I can't help but check them daily (you all know what I mean!) Like a watched pot, they will probably take forever to bloom. But I'm just excited that it's in that mode, finally!

Denise in Omaha

o

Is this your regular mac? I love that plant, it's so pretty.

o

Hi Quinn,