Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
buzzb_gw

Hello

buzzb
11 years ago

Hello. My name is Mike and I live in central Florida. I have been hanging around GW for a few months now and I figured it was time I introduced myself.

I'm a big fan of plants and Hoyas in particular (along with a few others). Reading all your posts has been vey interesting and educational and I sure do appreciate all the knowledge and enthusiasm.

It started when I took care of my mom's H carnosa about a year or so ago. Now I have 22 different hoyas and a couple dischidia. I find it amazing that there are nurseries everywhere in Florida but very few places that carry "houseplant" type plants. But I haven't let that slow me down too much.

: )

Comments (15)

• emt23
    11 years ago

Welcome Mike! Glad to hear from you. We are all at different levels of knowledge but share the same love of hoya. And the challenges they do offer. ~ Mary

• Denise
    11 years ago

Hi Mike, and welcome to the Hoya forum. You're right - it's hard to find anything but the most common houseplants, but there are more places to find Hoyas down there than most anywhere else in the country. I've heard of folks from our forum touring Herman Englemann's (Exotic Angel) and Secret Garden Rare Plants (Cowboyflowerman of eBay). But you're right - it's hard to find anything but the most common ones at your local nursery. I've often wondered why since they are such great plants to grow in your home...

Look forward to seeing you around the forum!

Denise in Omaha

• Klea
    11 years ago

Hi Mike! Welcome to the forum. : )

• greedygh0st
    11 years ago

Nice to meet you, Mike. Glad to read your introduction. :) Do you have a favorite Hoya?

• buzzb
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Hard to pick a favorite, but this H. lacunosa 'Ruby Sue' has been in perpetual bloom all summer, and my carnosa is large and blooms a ton also so it's pretty easy to like them. Sorry about the image quality....cell phone in poor light.

Mike