Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
patrick51_gw

Cuttings....

patrick51
14 years ago

David...I struck out trying to locate those hoyas that I simply "must have"...i.e., H. inflata and H. sp. flat stem....I tried 4 sellers in Thailand, 4 in the Philippines and everyone here that I could think of...zilch, zero, nada! Although, Chris Burton has a cutting of H. inflata with my name on it...to be sent in the spring if it lives. She CAN be such a doll. I ended up ordering from Ted Green...with alot of apprehension. I find it odd that he wants payment before he'll put your name on his waiting list!! Anyways, please describe for me the method you used to root these cuttings. Apodagis told me that H. sp. flat stem is a very difficult plant to root and very slow to grow. This has me a bit concerned since I'm new at rooting and have only rooted the "easy" ones. Thanks for any advice!! Patrick

Comments (8)

• okie_deb
    14 years ago

I'm not David but my name starts with a 'D' so does that count? haha.
    I have been having great success with a product called Clonex. It's a dipping gel to promote root growth while keeping out fungal disease. It's been great for cuttings not to rot.
    You can Google and find 15 ml. pouches for sale on the net to try it out. They run between 4.95-5.95 and a couple dollars to ship. In fact there are some pouches in Ebay now for sale. (No I'm not the seller nor affliated with them in any way.)
    I'm about finished with my pouch and will be buying a bottle of it next.,,,,Debbie

• patrick51
    Original Author
    14 years ago