Return to the Hoya Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Hoya Kerrii Turning Yellow

Posted by hsaloot none (My Page) on
Sun, Dec 11, 11 at 13:56

Hi everyone
I am a newbie to gardening and have bought one of these single-leaf Hoya Kerrii plants (heart-shaped) about 8 month ago. It was doing fine until recently when it has started to turn yellow. A small brown spot has also appeared on the plant.
I have tried to water the plant only when the soil looked dry but there has been something like white mold on the soil recently. Could you please help me by giving some advice on how to save my plant?
Is it too late?
Thanks a lot in advance for your kind helps.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Hoya Kerrii Turning Yellow

Hi hsaloot.

There are a number of issues to respond to here.

First, if you are talking about having a plant that is a single kerrii leaf stuck into the soil with no vine visible, then it is most likely that your plant will never develop further. This is a novelty item that unfortunately disappoints many gift recipients. [See here, for example.]

Second, it's hard for us to diagnose from a description unaccompanied by a picture, as there are lots of different kinds of brown spots on plants. However, if it looks kind of soft and brown and the yellow is spreading out from it, it's probably some kind of fungal infection, and you can try making a simple paste of cinnamon with a little water and plastering it over the spot on both sides.