Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
blfresh

Peduncles in winter

blfresh
13 years ago

I have a KP that I picked up this year from Lowes, an EA plant. It has done very well and now recently has started putting out a lot of peduncles. I'm not a houseplant newbie but I am new to hoyas. Is this normal? It is in a large south facing window. It started a few weeks ago with just a couple but now little ones are popping out on many stems. Is this a precursor to growth with carnosas?

Comments (9)

• mdahms1979
    13 years ago

Hoya carnosa is a species that does well in cool temperatures so this time of year they seem to bloom more heavily than in the heat of the summer. The production of peduncles means that your plant is getting ready to bloom although flower buds are not always produced as soon as the peduncle matures.
    Congratulations and I am sure once your plant flowers that you will count it as one of your favorites.

Mike

• pirate_girl
    13 years ago

Hi Mike,

Can you say pls, what is it you read that tells you things like this, that Carnosa does well in cool temps.

I live in a hot apartment w/ no AC & strong western light. It'd be very useful for me to learn warmer loving vs. cooler loving Hoyas, maybe I'd get better growing & blooming results.

BLFresh,

I don't think your experience is really common, so maybe read up around here, see what you can learn & enjoy!

• cpawl
    13 years ago

Hi PG
    If you can find a copy of DL'S catalog he gives the temperature tolerance for a lot of hoyas.

Cindy

• mdahms1979
    13 years ago