Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hoosier_bob

Bloom trigger?

Growers,

Hoya beginner here....I grow a wide variety of tropical plants here in Indiana, but only have two hoyas. I am attaching a picture of what I assume to be carnosa variegata. It does revert to all green a lot, and I keep those parts trimmed off for the most part. I have had this plant for three years and it has never bloomed. I put it outside in the summer (diffused sun/shade) and put it on a hanger just inside a window with a southern exposure, as in the picture, in the winter. I let it dry out and then soak it good in the shower during the winter. It seems to grow well, but am wondering if moving it inside and out is preventing bloom. I bought a very small hoya odorata (2.5" pot) from Logee's this summer and it has already bloomed late this fall. You may notice the leaves aren't very glossy....we have very hard well water here and it shows on the leaves in the winter.

If anyone has some input on the ID of this plant and suggestions for encouraging bloom, your ideas would be greatly appreciated. Thanks! Bob

Comments (29)

• Denise
    9 years ago

Bob,

I, too, have never gotten this form a carnosa to bloom, even though I've grown it off and on for over 30 years. (I usually end up tossing it when it stops producing any variegated growth.. On a side-note, the all green offshoots make a very beautiful plain carnosa!) There is 'Krimson Queen', which is the opposite varigation - with the cream on the edges, green in the middle. That one blooms easier. The one you have, 'Krimson Princess', has never bloomed for me, either. I know people DO get it to bloom, buy my opinion is that in general, this one probably puts more energy into the process of growing, because it has less chlorophyll for photosynthesis. It's just what makes sense to me.