Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mari11_gw

New member from Canada

Mari11
11 years ago

Hello to all hoya's growers!
I am new to hoya and interested to start growing them. I've read a lot of information about hoyas, checked all vendors mentioned on this forum, and still have couple questions.

1. Which varieties would you recommend to start with? I will grow them in a regular house, so they should be not very big, yet not miniature or slow growing, and MUST be easy bloomer in not completely perfect conditions. (Is it too much to demand?)

2. Are there Canadian hoya lovers in this group ? I found a thread here with this question dated by 2005, too long ago. I hope, more experienced Canadian growers could help with ideas where to get cuttings, etc. locally.

I will wait for your suggestions! Thank you in advance!

BTW, though I don't have any hoyas for trade, I have some perennials and seeds, if someone is interested...

Comments (15)

• Denise
    11 years ago

Hi Mari, and welcome to the world of Hoyas. You picked a great genus to get into growing. Even though it can take awhile to flower them (but not necessarily...), most species are lovely, making flowers just a great bonus. And most species are fairly easy to grow, to it's more about what you find aesthetically pleasing. I gravitate towards big-leaved and succulent species, but there are things I like about the small species, too. A few I find difficult to grow, but honestly, I can't really think (off the top of my head) of a species that I consistently hear that about, so I think it's just a matter of trial and error to see what you find easier or more difficult.

Check out Hoyor.net (linked below) for a good source of information and photos. This will help you decide what appeals to you. As for Canadian sources, I'll leave that to our Canadian friends, and yes, we have quite a few members from the Great White North.

Look forward to seeing you around the forum!

Denise in Omaha