Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tristate_gw

Best Roses for our area or forget it?

tristate
11 years ago

Has anyone had good luck with a particular variety of roses-preferably one that is more on the "no fuss/no muss" category? I'd like to plant some around the deck in an unfenced area which gets a lot of sun. Watering would be via a drip system.

Once planted, there is plenty of unobstructed space (both height and width) for them to grow and develop over many many years.

Equally imporant, does anyone want to dissuade me b/c of awful experiences? Anecdotes which may save me a couple of hundred bucks are appreciated.

Comments (8)

• lam702
    11 years ago

Well, I am far from an expert on roses, but having tried and failed with many kinds I can tell you what I've had some success with. First of all, you don't say which zone you are in, that is important because for me, in zone 5 most of the hybrid teas and floribundas don't winter over well. Of course, lazy gardener that I am, I don't bother with winter protection, that might help. I do find rugosas the easiest by far, extremely hardy, never need spraying, very fragrant. But - VERY thorny. Canadian roses are hardy for me, I've grown Morden Blush very well, no die back and it is a lovely rose. A pretty much foolproof rose for me is the polyantha "the fairy" very low maintenence, very hardy, absolutely covered in bloom all summer. It is a very full, bushy plant, roses grow in sprays and there are hundreds of them! I let mine grow to about 3 feet, I am not sure but I think they might get a bit taller than that. If you are looking for a good rose to plant around a deck, hardy, low maintenence and covered in flowers, the fairy would be my choice. Tiny roses, but lots of them in a lovely light pink. No fragrance though, but I guess we can't have it all. It is fairly easy to propagate too, and believe me, if I can propagate it, anyone can! Hope this helps.

• tristate
    Original Author
    11 years ago