Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jyyanks_gw

Suggestions for easy to care for Perennials

jyyanks
14 years ago

Hello,

I am new to this forum as I mostly hang out in Home Decorating. However, for the first time in years, I'm done renovating the inside of my home and have moved to the outside, albeit on a shoestring budget. I;m not sure what board I should post on so O figured I'd try local.

I live in lower Westchester county and need suggestions for easy-to-care-for perennials to plant in a space that gets a lot of sun. I prefer flowering plants that bloom in the late spring/summer. Color does not matter that much - I am more concerned with finding plants that don't require a lot of maintenance. Not sure if this question is too broad as this is the first time I've had my own yard so I have zero gardening experience.

Also, can someone recommend a nursery in lower Wetchester where I can buy the plants and get friendly advice on how to plant and where.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Comments (7)

• tristate
    14 years ago

I planted Lavender last year and it looked great, needed no maintenence, was a sun lover and didn't get eaten (by pests or deer). It self pollinates and does spread so make sure you put it somehwere you wouldn't mind it taking over in a coupl eof years. Plus, it attracted honeybees which is always helpful to general health of flora in the area. Good luck.

• jyyanks
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thanks Tristate - I actually love lavendar so will check it out. Any suggestions on where I can buy?

• jayco
    14 years ago

The key to finding low-maintenance plants is to select plants that like the conditions you have. For example, lavender does not grow well for me, since it likes dry soil, and I have heavy, moisture-retentive soil. For me these are a few examples of nice, low-maintenance perennials: perennial salvia, perennial geraniums, astilbe, coreopsis, echinacea, and rudbeckia.