Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pinkswine

Short flower varieties to attract hummingbirds - Portland, Oregon

pinkswine
14 years ago

I'm planning on purchasing a hummingbird feeder soon. I would like to plant various flowers in my window flower boxes (not very large boxes) to attract them throughout the spring & summer. What are some reasonably short flowers varieties which would best attract them and could be grown in Portland, Oregon? Do hummingbirds like heather plants? Does anyone know when the feeder should be put up and taken down in this part of the US? This is my first time to try to feed hummingbirds so I am new to this subject. Thanks much! Jen

Comments (4)

• adahlberg
    14 years ago

You shoud plant fuchsias! They do very well in planter boxes and grow great in Portland. They spill over the edges and bloom from summer to frost.

• susanlynne48
    14 years ago

Check out Sweet Nectar Nursery for ideas. They market plants specifically for butterflies and hummingbirds. They are located in the State of Washington, so they probably have suggestions that will do well in your climate.

Susan

Here is a link that might be useful: Sweet Nectar Nursery

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    14 years ago

Fuchsias are a great idea but need some shade, especially in the afternoon (morning sun OK). Full sun plants (primarily annuals - these stay short and are best suited to smaller window boxes) include snapdragons, nicotiana, annual salvia, nasturtiums, petunias and calibrachoa (Million Bells).

Yes, hummers will feed from heaths and heathers but these may not be ideal plants for a window box. And I leave my feeders up year round. The PNW is blessed with large populations of Anna's hummingbirds and they are year round residents. If you have room, you might want to consider planting a selection of other hummer attracting plants in your garden. There are flowering trees, shrubs, vines and perennials that will offer food sources and attraction throughout the year.